Advanced search

Shanghai > The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg > Studying and Working in Luxembourg > Education >


The Luxembourg constitution confers the State the right to organise and regulate education. As a result, most schools are public and tuition-free. There are some private schools that teach the same subjects, but they are fee-paying. Compulsory education consists of 11 years of schooling : two years of preschool, six years of primary school and three years of secondary school.



The linguistic situation in Luxembourg is characterized by the practice and recognition of three administrative languages – Lëtzebuergesch, French and German. German is taught from the very first year of primary school, while French is taught the following years. Moreover, German is the main language for primary education, as well as for the first few years of secondary classical and secondary technical education. French, however, is used predominantly in secondary classical education. The number of hours devoted to language teaching accounts for 50% of the total of subjects taught during the entire schooling. During these years, Lëtzebuergesch remains the main teaching language.



Religious as well as moral and social classes are compulsory during primary and secondary school.


The school system

Early education is aimed at children from the age of 3. It helps children to socialise and immigrant children to integrate properly. This project was introduced at the beginning of the school year 2000/2001. Early education is not compulsory.


Preschool education is compulsory for children over 4 years of age on 1 September of the current year, in accordance with the grand-ducal regulation of 2 September 1992. Primary education lasts six years and is intended for children having reached the age of 6 by 1 September of the current year.


Postprimary education lasts six or seven years depending on the orientation chosen and is split into two sections – secondary education, which concentrates on classical subjects and prepares students for university, and technical secondary education, which offers practical and vocational training.


University of Luxembourg

The University of Luxembourg, founded in 2003, is a multilingual, international research university with 6,200 students and staff from across the globe. The mandatory semester abroad for bachelor’s students reflects the importance this University attaches to mobility. To this end, exchange agreements exist with 60 universities in 20 countries around the world. The priorities for research at the University of Luxembourg are international finance, ICT security, systems biomedicine, European law, business law and educational sciences. International research teams and 550 PhD students work within three faculties  as well as the University’s Interdisciplinary Centre for Security, Reliability and Trust (SnT) and the Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine (LCSB) .


For more Information:

University of Luxembourg

Students’ life and scholarships